Variable control

Hi ALL,

Well, although there are still some open issues with the R2 I have managed to get it working to fully replace my Harmony Elite and the Elite has now been officially retired!

But there is one more thing I would like to do. I saw the attached image in a YouTube video about the R2 and its showing a graphical control for lights. I have some lights and a thermostat available on Home Assistant and they are controllable via the R2 but only with binary functions, such as ON or OFF, even though they are controllable on HA with a graphical control.

How do I create a graphical control like in the image on the R2?

Thanks,
Gerry

I think it depends on the entity type in HA.
I have linked HA-controlled dimmers and they appear as controlable bar.

Ftobi,

Could you please elaborate for me as I am very new to HA and it took quite a while for me to just get it to work with R2. The dimmer and thermostat show up in HA with graphical controls but only shows in R2 with ON or OFF.

How do I set the entity type in HA?

Thanks,
Gerry

I don’t think your problem comes from HA : you want to have the advanced controls of your entities over just the on/off switch. If inside HA you can control a thermostat or a shutter or a light, you should be able to control it the same way from the remote.

These controls are available only in pages, not inside activities (only toggle on/off is possible inside activities)
You should be able to see the entity type from its logo like here for a thermostat.
And then drop it in a page so that you can control it.
One more thing : if you press the left part of the row on the icon, it will just toggle it, whereas if you press the text part it will open the expected control

1 Like

albator:

AMAZING - IT WORKED!!! The wealth of knowledge in this forum is FANTASTIC! I can simply say that if this forum did not exist my R2 would never have been workable and would have ended up hidden somewhere in the back of a closet!